Freego X3: Complete Specs, Price & Safety Risks (2026)
The Freego X3 is an 8000W peak electric dirt bike with pedals from Freego, a direct-to-consumer brand shipping from a U.S. warehouse. As of October 10, 2026, the official site lists $2,499 (40Ah) and $2,699 (X3 Pro, 50Ah), both showing sold out.
It runs a 72V battery with 230 N·m of torque and two speed modes, 28 mph City and 56 mph Off-road. X3 and X3 Pro differ only in battery size, so pick by the range you need.
Freego says the X3 may not qualify as a Class 1, 2 or 3 electric bicycle in all jurisdictions, so check local laws before riding on public roads or paths, and charge it only with the supplied charger. This guide is general information, not legal or safety advice.
| Variant | Price | Best verified offer |
|---|---|---|
| X3 (72V 40Ah) | $2,499 | Free shipping to the contiguous U.S. and a 30-day price guarantee at Freego’s official store |
| X3 Pro (72V 50Ah) | $2,699 | $400 off the $3,099 list price |
In This Guide
ToggleHow Much Does the Freego X3 Cost?
The Freego X3 is listed at $2,499 for the 40Ah model and $2,699 for the 50Ah X3 Pro on freegobikes.com as of October 10, 2026, with the Pro showing $400 off its $3,099 list price.
| Version | Battery | Price | List price |
|---|---|---|---|
| X3 | 72V 40Ah | $2,499 | Not shown on the product page; the homepage card strikes through $2,899 |
| X3 Pro | 72V 50Ah | $2,699 | $3,099 (save $400) |
Both versions show a Sold out button on the product page as of October 10, 2026. The same page also reads “In stock & Ready to ship”, so confirm availability before you plan around either price. For reference, an authorized San Diego dealer lists the 50Ah X3 at $2,649 with shipping.
The X3 suits riders who want an 8000W peak motor and, at the Pro level, a 110-mile City Mode rating. It is not for anyone who needs a bike that is certain to qualify as Class 1, 2 or 3.

Free Shipping
Freego X3 Specs: What You Get
The Freego X3 pairs a 4500W nominal, 8000W peak rear hub motor with a 72V battery, 230 N·m of torque and 4-piston hydraulic brakes, and weighs 132 lb including the battery.
| Spec | Freego’s listed detail |
|---|---|
| Motor and controller | 4500W nominal, 8000W peak rear brushless hub motor; 230 N·m max torque; FarDriver controller, 100A and 300A |
| Battery | 72V 40Ah (2880Wh) on the X3, 72V 50Ah (3600Wh) on the X3 Pro |
| Brakes | Front and rear 4-piston hydraulic disc brakes with 203 mm rotors |
| Suspension and frame | Hydraulic inverted front fork, KKE rear shock, high-strength steel frame |
| Wheels | Spoke wheels with 19 x 1.6 alloy rims and thickened butyl tubes; tire width is not stated on the page |
| Size and weight | 132 lb including battery; seat height 32.7 in; ground clearance 9.6 in |
| Controls and display | Full-twist throttle plus magnetic pedal-assist sensor; single-speed drivetrain; color LCD with NFC start and screen password |
| Storage and lighting | Integrated front utility bag; LED headlight, rear brake light and turn signals |
What Is the Freego X3’s Top Speed?
The Freego X3 tops out at 56 mph in Off-road Mode and 28 mph in City Mode, per Freego’s official specs; those are manufacturer figures, not independent measurements.
| Mode | Top speed | Source |
|---|---|---|
| City Mode | 28 mph | Freego spec sheet (manufacturer figure) |
| Off-road Mode | 56 mph | Freego spec sheet (manufacturer figure) |
Treat the Freego X3 top speed as a ceiling that depends on mode, rider, terrain and battery, not a promise. One owner in a review hosted on Freego’s site reports 59 to 60 mph, which is a user report rather than a spec. Review blogs quoting GPS-tested speeds are left out here because other numbers in those posts conflict with Freego’s spec sheet. Speed settings must follow local law wherever you ride.

How Far Can the Freego X3 Go on One Charge?
Freego rates the X3 at up to 110 miles in City Mode at 20 mph with pedal assist and up to 40 miles in Off-road Mode at 45 mph, and range varies with rider weight, speed and terrain.
| Mode | Claimed range | Test speed |
|---|---|---|
| City Mode | Up to 110 miles | 20 mph with pedal assist |
| Off-road Mode | Up to 40 miles | 45 mph |
Freego ties the 110-mile headline to the 72V 50Ah battery and gives no separate range figure for the 40Ah X3. The 40Ah pack stores 2880Wh against 3600Wh for the Pro, so plan for less range from the base model. Range also varies with wind, tire pressure, temperature and payload. Freego’s own page does not label the mode for each range figure or state the test conditions, but authorized San Diego dealers’ copies of the spec do: City Mode at 20 mph with pedal assist and Off-road Mode at 45 mph, tested with a 165 lb rider, no bags, a flat road, 77°F and no wind.
One owner in a review hosted on Freego’s site reports slightly over 50 miles in mode 2 with 55 to 60% battery left, which is a user report and not a rating. Blogs quoting a 60-mile range conflict with Freego’s official figures and are not used here.
Freego X3 vs X3 Pro vs X2 Pro: Which Version Fits?
The Freego X3 and X3 Pro differ only in battery size, 72V 40Ah versus 72V 50Ah, a $200 price gap at current listings, and both share the same 8000W peak motor, frame and brakes.
| Spec | X3 | X3 Pro | X2 Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $2,499 | $2,699 | $2,199 |
| Battery | 72V 40Ah | 72V 50Ah | Not covered here |
| Peak motor | 8000W | 8000W | 6000W |
| Top speed | 56 mph | 56 mph | 50 mph |
| Claimed max range | Not stated | 110 miles | 56 miles |
- Pick the X3 if Freego’s standard range covers your rides, since Freego says it gives the same riding experience as the Pro at a lower price.
- Pick the X3 Pro if you want the only version with a stated 110-mile City Mode rating.
- Pick the X2 Pro if you want the lowest price of the three at $2,199 and can accept 6000W peak, 50 mph and a 56-mile claimed range.
Freego X3 Safety and Legal Notes Before You Buy
Freego’s Vehicle Use Notice warns the X3 may not qualify as a Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike in all jurisdictions, and a 2024 statement from a U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission commissioner advises charging e-bike batteries only with the supplied charger.
The notice says classification, registration, licensing and permitted riding areas vary by location. Another line on the product page says pedal assist qualifies the bike as an electric bicycle, so this guide follows the cautious notice. The X3 has a 4500W nominal motor. The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle in 15 U.S.C. 2085 covers motors of less than 750 watts and a motor-only top speed under 20 mph, so do not assume the X3 fits that category.
In a September 2024 statement on universal e-bike chargers, CPSC Commissioner Richard Trumka, speaking for himself rather than the full Commission, urged riders to:
- Charge only with the supplied charger and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.
- Unplug the charger when the battery is full.
- Never put lithium-ion batteries in household trash or general recycling.

Freego X3 Pros and Cons
The Freego X3’s strengths are its 8000W peak motor and 4-piston hydraulic brakes, while its main drawbacks are a 132 lb weight and a return policy that deducts a flat $400 per bike.
On the plus side, Freego’s spec sheet lists:
- A 4500W nominal, 8000W peak hub motor with 230 N·m of torque
- Motorcycle-grade 4-piston hydraulic brakes with 203 mm rotors
- A full suspension setup with an inverted front fork and KKE rear shock
- Both a throttle and pedal assist, plus a color LCD with NFC start and a front utility bag
On the downside:
- It weighs 132 lb including the battery.
- Returns carry a flat $400 deduction and are limited to unopened, unassembled and unused bikes.
- The motor, battery and controller are covered for 1 year, not 2.
- Freego rates Off-road Mode at up to 40 miles.
- Class and road-use status depends on where you ride.
Freego’s own product page shows 39 reviews, 35 of them five-star and 4 four-star, and one comment says the battery is heavy. Because they are hosted on Freego’s site, read them as user reports. For a broader look at the brand, see our Freego electric bike review.
Where to Buy the Freego X3 and What Offers Apply
Buy the Freego X3 direct from Freego’s official store for free shipping to the contiguous U.S., a 14-day return window and a 30-day price guarantee, or through authorized dealers listed on Freego’s Find a Dealer page.
Dealer pricing sits close to Freego’s own, with EZE Ryders, an authorized San Diego dealer, listing the 50Ah X3 at $2,649 with shipping. Ask any dealer which warranty and support apply, because dealer terms can differ from Freego’s. No promo code is listed on the official site for new buyers, and codes from coupon aggregators are not listed here because they are unconfirmed.
Shipping, Returns and Warranty
Shipping is free to the contiguous U.S. (not Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico), and bikes ship within 1 to 2 business days from a U.S. warehouse. Freego’s pages quote arrival in 3 to 6, 3 to 7 and 3 to 8 business days, so plan for the longer end. Freego also lists separate Canada and Mexico stores, which this guide does not cover.
Returns are accepted for 14 days from delivery, but only if the bike is unopened, unassembled and unused, and Freego deducts a flat $400 per bike from the refund. Accessories and parts cannot be returned, and the bank refund can take 2 to 4 weeks. The return page meta description says 20 days, but the policy text says 14, so rely on 14.
| Warranty coverage | Period |
|---|---|
| Wear parts | 30 days |
| Electronics (display, lights, sensors, charger) | 3 months |
| Motor, battery and controller | 1 year (battery limited to capacity loss above 20%) |
| Frame, stem and handlebars | 24 months |
| Homepage summary (differs from the policy page above) | Display 1 year; throttle, lights and brakes 6 months. Confirm with Freego which terms apply to your order. |
Discounts and Payment Options
Past buyers of a Freego e-bike or e-scooter can get 15% off a complete e-bike by emailing Freego for a code, which excludes accessories and parts.
Freego also runs a 30-day price guarantee that refunds the difference if the same product’s price drops on freegobikes.com, and it does not cover other sites or promotions. Checkout lists Klarna, PayPal Pay Later and Afterpay; Affirm and Shop Pay Installments are not confirmed. A Fall Sale collection is live on Freego’s site with no end date stated. On October 10, 2026, Trustpilot showed a 4.5 TrustScore from 50 reviews, with 84% five-star and 10% one-star ratings, which are user reviews rather than a Freego claim. Freego’s own Trustpilot profile describes it as a Los Angeles-based brand established in 2012.
Related reading:

Freego X3 FAQ
How long does it take to charge the Freego X3?
Freego lists a 5 to 8 hour charge time with an 84V, 6A charger for both the 72V 40Ah and 50Ah batteries.
Does the Freego X3 have pedals and a throttle?
Yes. The X3 has a full-twist throttle and a magnetic pedal-assist sensor on the crank, with a single-speed drivetrain, per Freego’s spec sheet and feature notes.
How much weight can the Freego X3 carry and who is it sized for?
Freego lists a 330 lb max load and a rider height range of 5’5″ to 6’5″.
Can you ride the Freego X3 in the rain?
Freego calls its e-bikes water-resistant, so light rain and wet roads are fine, but heavy rain and submersion are not. They are not fully waterproof.
Does the Freego X3 come with a bike tracker?
Yes. The X3 includes the Freego Bike Tracker, which works with Apple Find My, alerts you if the bike moves more than 5 meters, and has a one-year battery with no monthly fees.
How do I assemble the Freego X3?
Freego links an assembly video and product manuals from the X3 page and its manuals page. The page does not say how much assembly the bike needs on arrival, so check the manual.
Long has spent 7+ years running Google and Meta ad campaigns for e-commerce brands, which means he's watched thousands of shoppers abandon carts over a coupon field that wouldn't accept anything. He built SmartCartCodes to fix that. Every code listed here is checked against the merchant's live checkout before it's published, and anything that stops working gets pulled — not buried. He works directly with brands and affiliate networks across the US, UK, and EU.